Ben Taylor-Dear Boy & Surround Me

Raised in a musical family (parents are Carly Simon and James Taylor), lead singer/songwriter Ben Taylor was immersed in music from an early age. Taylor explains, “My first memory’s of music blend in with the rest of my senses. I can remember attending the concerts and studio sessions of every one from Carol King to Foreigner by the time I was 7 years old. Nearly everyone I have ever looked up to and have ever known has been a professional musician.” Surprisingly, Taylor didn’t originally set his sights on a music career. Having traveled extensively all over the globe, from Tibet to the Darien Rain forest, he developed a fierce love for nature. “Up until that point I wanted to be a farmer or a gardener,” Ideally, what I want to write about are things that have relevance not just in my life but in a universal sense as well. That’s the power of music: to move, to motivate, to make you ask ‘What if?’ or ‘Why?’ I think that music should give voice to people’s emotions.” The Ben Taylor Band’s sound is genre defying as friend and drummer, Larry Ciancia explains, “It’s extremely difficult to categorize our sound: it’s part pop, part rock-and-roll, part folk. But honestly, it’s like nothing I’ve been hearing out there lately-which is either a very good or a very bad thing.” Taylor adds, “I couldn’t be more proud to sound like either of my parents, physically or stylistically, this is who I am. But I am a different guy and I write different music.” Find out more at http://www.myspace.com/bentaylorofficial. Acoustic Podcast recorded live at Acoustic Long Island, August 20, 2008. (Text from Youtube entry)

Ben’s siteBen’s Excellent Daytrotter Session.  Deep gratitude to Daytrotter for constantly revealing super new music to me.  For free and for fun.

“Dear Boy”

words & music by Paul McCartney

I guess you never knew,
Dear boy, what you had found,
I guess you never knew,
Dear boy, that she was just the cutest thing around.
I guess you never knew what you had found,
Dear boy.

I stepped in, my heart was down and out,
But her love came through and brought me ’round,
got me up and about.

I guess you never saw,
Dear boy, that love was there,
And maybe when you look too hard,
Dear boy, you never do become aware.

I guess you never did become aware,
Dear Boy.
When I stepped in, my heart was down and out,
But her love came through and brought me ’round,
got me up and about.

I hope you never know, dear boy,
how much you missed,
And even when you fall in love,
Dear boy, it won’t be half as good as this
I hope you never know how much you missed, dear boy.

I stepped in, my heart was down and out,
But her love came through and brought me ’round,
got me up and about.
Dear boy, how much you missed,

from Ram (1971)

“Surround Me”

Love surround me with all your reach
Now while we’re here alone
Now our bodies are ocean and beach
Blessings of waves and stones

Floating a lonely sound
You found me
And now that the tide is finally down
Surround me
Surround me
Surround me

And love move for me
Flow beneath the sky
Shadows and silver cross your face
Pools of moon at night

Weak from standing on sandy ground
You found me
And now that I’ve finally fallen down
Surround me
Surround me
Surround me

Love surround me while you can
Until these waves grow cold
I’ve gone TOO DEEP, I cannot stand
I burned before I froze

Running to save my life
Believing you
Now in the heat of this dreadful dry
I’m needing you
Surround me
Surround me
Surround me

from Another Run Around the Sun (2005)

One thought on “Ben Taylor-Dear Boy & Surround Me

  1. It goes into Indian pickles as a preservative and coloring agent.
    If you would like to learn more about the nutritional supplements I personally take
    that contain turmeric extract, visit my website below.
    dark-colored stools, presence of blood in the stool, vomiting
    of blood – these suggest internal bleeding.

Leave a Reply

